I Have To "buy" A Seat Selection?

dalidali
Posted
Posted

Cebu Pacific Air basic ticket price does NOT include an actual seat.....wow.

I had to pay, in addition to the stated fare, another 200p for a run of the mill seat. Not a so called "premium seat" mind you.

I had to laugh.....I booked very early and took advantage of the promo fares.

Ticket promo price was 199p from Manila to Cebu and that is where the fun stuff begins.

The final price, which included the taxes, fees, seat selection and one, under 10K bag was 1700P.

I have been flying to SE Asia for several years with international carriers and never had to pay for a "seat" that was an add-on to the published prices.

It boggles my mind that CP or others, who charge for a "seat", don't just raise the base price of the ticket rather than have people yelling FOUL!!

If that flight was promo priced at 399p including a real seat, I would not be whining about this.

I never did see an option to "opt-out" of paying extra for a seat.

Which makes me wonder.....what would happen to you if you choose not to pay for a seat?

• Like 4

Bruce
Posted
Posted

No you do not have to buy a seat. But they do not tell you this. If you show up to check in  with out buying a seat online, they will assign you a seat. The bigger airlines make MILLIONS a year with add on fees. American Airlines is the worst with 70 add on fees depending on what you want to do. Fees for seats of course if you buy online, but also fees for bicycle or scuba tank or other stuff you may want to fly with.

The websites are designed to make you think you must but a seat. If you do not, you would mostly likely get a middle seat as the window and isle seats are bought by others when they buy their ticket. Who cares on a short flight?

• Like 3

JJReyes
Posted
Posted

I pay Cebu Pacific the P200 to reserve a seat of my choice (aisle). Without the seat reservation, you take whatever is still available at check-in.