Part Time Expat?

• Forum Support
Old55
Posted
Posted

I think the majority of members here make Philippines a permanant home. Anyone live in Philippines for only part of each year?

• Like 1

cebu rocks
Posted
Posted

Yep I have been coming for 5 years and try to stay 6 months but the last couple years i have been breaking it up to around 3 months each place

I have found its better for me I get bored and grumpy after 3 months here

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

• Like 3

the_whipster
Posted
Posted

at least 4 months each year since 1995. Now the Philippines pretty much exclusively but before I used to mix it more. Thailand, Malaysia, and Cambodia as well as Philippines. First time I visited Philippines was 2001 and it gradually grew on me and year on year alloted more and more time to it. But 2009 was the first year I went to the Philippines, and no other country in Asia. Always move around. Almost never more than one month in any one place. About a week, is probably the average parking period.

• Like 1

Jack Peterson
Posted
Posted

I have found its better for me I get bored and grumpy after 3 months here

Ah So! a prime candidate, for a reply, to Old's topic on Boredom then? :)

:tiphat:

• Like 4

BrettGC
Posted
Posted

I'm averaging about 4 months a year there at the moment.  Hopefully, by the end of the year, I'll be there full time.  My first trip to PI was back in '89, when I was in the RAN and Subic Bay was still a US military instillation. Yearly visits since then on deployments to Subic, Davao, Manila etc,  so I saw a lot of change.  Olongopo was initially devastated by the US withdrawal.  I left the Navy in 2007, didn't go back until I met my ex-gf in 2012. Was so impressed by the way the country had progressed, particularly after the void left by the US in places like Subic and AC (Fields aside of course - I don't judge the ladies but I will judge the sexpats;  no apologies, that's just my moral compass). 

• Like 4

Lou49
Posted
Posted