Investing In The Philippines Stock Market

PaulB
Posted
Posted

I have just opened an account to invest in some shares in the Philippines Stock market. I have set myself rules such as not to invest more than I can afford to lose and also to spread the risk of my portfolio.

Due to the Chinese economy meltdown it was a good time to start investing a few good (lucky) choices have enabled me to reach a 25% increase in portfolio balance. I know this can go up and down so not celebrating just yet.

I will continue to add a bit into my trading account each month and see how it goes. For sure it will not be a retirement fund and thank goodness I don't need it to be but what it has done is make me more aware of things going on in the Philippines and the world that can affect the Philippines.

I am just wondering if anyone else has experience of trading in the local markets and perhaps willing to share any tips.

• Like 5

Dave Hounddriver
Posted
Posted

I have no experience and am naturally curious to see the results of your endeavors.

I have noticed the Philippine stock market has had a pretty good ride over the last 5 years so best of luck to you and I hope you will keep us informed regularly.  :thumbsup:

• Like 3

PaulB
Posted
Posted

Dave I will keep you updated on any success and of course failures. I am approaching this as the turtle! Slow and steady. It could end up as my hobby when I come over full time in 4 years. I have a vision of me looking at the laptop sat in my Nippa Hut whilst drinking a cold San Mig light! 

Keep you posted.

Oh yes and cursing as slow internet!

• Like 4

mogo51
Posted
Posted

Yes  good luck and will be reading with interest.  I have a modest Super fund in Oz that I have only been in for 3 years regrettably, as I shouldhave gone into it a lot earlier.  It has average 14% tax paid over that period and my sister has been in it for many years like 20 or something and she has averaged 9.5% tax paid through all the big ups and downs.