Getting my money each month from a US bank account

rikstick4493
Posted
Posted

Hello,

My girlfriend lives in Cebu and I've decided to marry her. We have met twice and the way that I send her money is using Xoom. My question is: once I take the plunge to move to Cebu, I'll receive my Social Security check in my US bank account plus I work as an online adjunct instructor in the US and that pay also goes to the same bank account. Can I still use Xoom to transfer my money to my fiancé's BDO account while I'm in the Philippines? Also, can I open up a BDO account myself once she and I get married? If I can't use Xoom from the Philippines, how do you guys get your money from the US?

Thanks,

James

• Forum Support
scott h
Posted
Posted

Welcome to the forum

9 minutes ago, rikstick4493 said:

how do you guys get your money from the US?

There are as many different ways to access money as there are expats. What we do is have our money deposited into our USA checking account then using USA checks deposit them into our dollar account in a Philippine bank. Drawback is we have to wait for the checks to "clear" before we can access the dollars.

13 minutes ago, rikstick4493 said:

Also, can I open up a BDO account myself once she and I get married?

Generally yes, AFTER you get your 13A visa approved, which you can apply for after 6 months residency, and usually takes about 6-9 months to get processed and approved, so a year after marriage you "should" be able to open an account "legally".

• Like 1

Lee
Posted
Posted
1 minute ago, scott h said:

Drawback is we have to wait for the checks to "clear" before we can access the dollars.

It can take a month for a US check to clear so you will have to plan ahead and determine how much $ you will need to get by.

Expats opening accounts in the PI have become problematic in recent years.

• Like 1

rikstick4493
Posted
Posted