Living Large? Can't See People Living On $1,500 A Month? Wow

the dude
Posted
Posted (edited)

I've been reading the expat section a lot for I'm nearing my retirement age. I plan to be there in a few years as you know. I read comments such as "living on $1500 a month is not living!! Only existing!" I know from doing some research here and there that you can find a decent apartment or condo to rent for $600 a month. Someone once mentioned that he needs at least $2500 dollars a month to live comfortably.My question is where do you spend your money?Yes. If you have an extended family and married to a high maintenance gal...maybe you need that much and more.Do you dine at an expensive restaurant everyday? I don't even do that here in Los Angeles. Maybe a couple of times month at a favorite restaurant and couple of times a year at perhaps at a really nice restaurant when I feel like splurging. Where I spend my money is in bars. But I know where to drink inexpensively.I'm also a chef. I love cooking. Its my passion. I cook at home all the time.The point I'm trying to make is "to each their own"I know I won't be driving a fancy car with an expensive insurance. Probably get a scooter to ride around. I won't be living in an expensive house with a maid either.Most likely I'll have pals over for a get together to show off my cooking skills when I feel like it. I'll be frequenting favorite watering hole and doing my thing as well.I don't live extravagantly because I can't. I choose not to. I like simple life. I'm a simple man...like to keep it that way.p.s. Some of my pals have been busting my balls for years about driving an old Honda Accord. My comeback to this is. I travel each year enough to pay for a brand new inexpensive car. They hear about my travels and they are so envious of me.I ususally travel for between 45 days to 3 months a year the last 14 years. I tell them that I've probably been to every restaurant-bars that Anthony Bourdain from "No reservations" have been t