Buying Engagment Ring In Manila?

Adventurer
Posted
Posted (edited)

I will be in Manila soon to buy a ring for my girlfriend. I have read on some sites that the quality is terrible for the prices but I don't have much time or choice as I fly back to Australia the next day and I want to give her the ring before I go.

A couple of places that I hear might be OK in Manila to check out are:

Ongpin Area

Greenbelt Area Makati near Landmark.

Binondo Chinatown

I have never been to Mainila besides stopping in for flights and one night at a airport hotel.

I will be staying in the Makati area so something closer to their would be ideal.

I really would appreciate some ideas as i have little time and no knowledge really of jewelry. Should I bother to spend a day researching the quality of diamonds etc?

How can I find a ring that is not going to be some cheap chinese fake or throw away thing that is off bad quality?

My budget is 10 - 20k. and I have about 4 hours to find one when I'm there.

Edited by Adventurer

Campero
Posted
Posted

I seem to remember seeing some quality items in Greenbelt on my last trip, but to be honest, I don't think you are going to get much in the way of quality on that type of budget. Even used gold from the pawn shop is going to cost you that type of price. There was also a second hand quality watch shop (Rolex's etc) near the jewelry stores there too, so if you can find that shop, look around that area. Good luck Sir.

Regards,

Campero

• Like 1

Adventurer
Posted
Posted

Greenbelt or Greenhills are meant to be more higher-end, probably Greenhills.

Yes I know my budget is limited. But I have read a lot of people going to Ongpin and getting good deals but they don't offer certificates there so I would never really know if it's a good deal or not!