Rogue Emails

Jack Peterson
Posted
Posted

:angry: I am no Technophobe and at 64 I have no intention of even trying to be. self taught after the initial introduction and doing what it says on the tin is about all the expertise i have. Tonight I had an email from Yahoo, telling me that my account was being be accessed from an unknown source and unknown equipment in Mexico, it gave me the isp numbers and asked me to check to see if it was indeed someone I knew. well I don't and I don't really understand what it was all about. A little later I had a curt mail from a friend in Dumaguete, he said JACK! please stop sending me mail about this and that, I had not. So I went back to the yahoo mail and found that whatever or who ever had been sending Rouge mail out from my account seems some of these mails went out before the chaps or equipment at least at Yahoo, stopped it all and just shut me down I followed all the things they said to do, Change this and change that, took me over an Hours to do all that was suggested, to get some security back in to the account. I don't use Yahoo much as a mail service but seems this is probably the cause. well I don't know if this true but something or some one, has attacked my address book and sent out this Bogus stuff. How can this happen, if we have a supposedly good anti Virus programme with all the mod cons of anti this and anti that, Phishing protection email protection (I use Avast) I was informed it is best to change you AVP every now and then This I don't know about but I took the advice I have over the last 8 years had Norton, McAfee you name it I have tried it, can some one enlighten me how these happen, Maybe I have just led a sheltered Life of trust. This tonight, got me a little riled, as the Guy concerned is a damn good friend. his words were it could have been full of Virus, I guess he opened it.