Foreigner Traveling With Minor

retired
Posted
Posted

The question below was posed on a local expat forum with no response to date . I am not aware of any special precautions that might need to be taken since the minor is not of Philippine nationality but wondering what others thoughts might be .

" I'm a French citizen planing to visit the Philippines with my niece who is 11 years old. Apart from the document authorizing her to leave France what kind of paper do I need to enter the Philippines and travel by planes within the Philippines ?

Any idea which government service I should contact ? "

northtoalaska
Posted
Posted

i've had some personal experience with a situation similar to this. i suggest, obviously, a passport, and, a notorized letter of permission from the parents. but nothing is promised to ward off an inquiring official. and, given the human trafficking problem, their extra scrutiny is certainly warranted.

• Like 1

Markham
Posted
Posted (edited)

Travelling to and within this country with a minor child who is not one's offspring is a venture I would avoid at all costs. The various laws pertaining to children and human-trafficking make no distinction between Philippine and non-Philippine persons.

At the very least he will require a Power of Attorney - written in English - granting him full care and control subscribed to by both parents and that should have a recent passport-type photo of the child permanently affixed. As well as notarisation, the PoA will require an Apostille from the French Foreign Ministry and then be authenticated by the Philippine Embassy in Paris.

However even that may not be sufficient and he may well encounter problems including the inability to get past the security guards at airport terminal entrances. He may also fall under suspicion wherever they stay and may find himself the subject of investigation.

If he's looking for sun and decent beaches, I suggest he looks to the Maldives as a better alternative destination.