Jumping Off The Cliff-Making The Move, Haha

jeff16406
Posted
Posted

Well, here we go. Retirement papers going in for August 9th 2013. One way ticket to Manila purchased for August 25th. Condo rental deposit paid for 90 day stay at One Adriatico Place. Visa obtained for 59 days. Just turned 50 on June 16th. Whew!!! Hope I know what I'm doing, haha. Anyways this is something I have been researching and planning for the last 5 yrs. Based on climate, cost of living and easiest cultural and communication change. I have only visited one time before last October for 21 days, staying in Baguio City, Manila and Cebu. I completely understand that living there and a vacation are two different things. I hope to talk to and meet more of you already living there soon. I have no idea for sure where I want to actually make a permanent stay at yet after the 90 days in Manila. I am sure I will really miss my kids but they are older now, 27, 26 and 23. I have met and talked with a lot of Filipina's but want to come and stay as a single person for awhile and really get to know someone before I make a commitment. So anyways I guess I just wanted to say hello to everyone and hope for some reassuring words of wisdom and advice. Hope to see and talk to some of you soon and look forward to making new friends. 

Jake
Posted
Posted

Hello Jeff,

Jumping off the cliff?  I like that!  We fully understand your anxieties and all the stress moving 

and living in PI.  Sounds like you have made some solid plans and more importantly, have made

some contingencies in case the chit hits the fan.

We look forward in hearing from you again.  You will soon realize we are a bunch of crazy expats

having fun talking about our mistakes and all the love stories -- they are truly inspirational.

Welcome aboard sir -- respectfully, Jake

• Like 5

Mike S
Posted
Posted