Staying In The Philippines 18 Months.

sims1892
Posted
Posted

Hello all,  I am planning to go to the Philippines in august and after my three week temp. visa extending for a as long as possible (18 months) just had a few questions cause there are so many different answers.  Is it possible to extend 18 months? do I have to keep a return plane ticket the entire 18 months?

I am a disabled veteran and i have seen numbers thrown out for cost of living from 1000usd to 2000usd. my budget will be around 80,000 pesos a month while I will have 3600usd  a month im leaving around 1600usd in a us bank account to build and in case i got to get out of the country and restart in the USA. so i plan to pay my living expenses with around 1900 a month and my extensions. i would greatly appreciate some advice from some one who has done this, and i really need to know if i need to keep an open return ticket for 18 months     Thanks!

bootleultras
Posted
Posted

Hi Sims,

You should be able to live within your means on your budget, which area are you moving to, do you know yet?

You can extend beyond the initial 21 days at the airport if that's easier for you, that would be for 59 days total.

After that its usually done in 2 month maximum brackets. If you're in Manila you may be able to take advantage of the new 6 month visa extension, that's the maximum extension at this time.

• Like 2

brock
Posted
Posted

Welcome to the forum Sims  :cheersty:

You can come to the Philippines on a one way ticket, But will need to get a  cheap throwaway onward ticket out of the country.before you come.

80,000 is ample.

• Like 3

Thomas
Posted
Posted

Sims, you can check if Retirement Visa can be better for you, and if you can fullfill the minimum demands for a type.

(I haven't memoriced the rules, because I don't plan to retire yet  :)   but it's described proper in some other topics in this forum.)

Hi Sims,