Dika-Steve From France

Dika-Steve
Posted
Posted

Hello,

I am a young post graduate French student, studying MSc International Business.

I recently gained a 6month internship opportunity from an American company in Cebu. I have not been to Asia in my life, thus Philippines will be my first Asian visit.

The company offers $US 75 per week, accommodation and feeding are provided. However, I am still troubled about the 75 dollars.

As a foreign intern, can I be able to be sustained with 75 dollars per week and possible make a little savings ? I am yet to officially accept the offer. I need to make my decisions ASAP.

thanks in advance for your time and kind responses.

Dika-Steve

Jollygoodfellow
Posted
Posted

Welcome to our forum

I moved your topic as it has questions which is not what introductions is about. 

:cheersty:

Dave Hounddriver
Posted
Posted
The company offers $US 75 per week

That is very close to what a trainee filipina would earn by working at a call center and she would not get food and lodging for that. Its up to you to know if you can enjoy your life with that amount and I would be curious what accommodation and food are provided.  There are people here living 8 to a dorm room existing on chicken feet and rice so be sure you know what they are providing. 

Dika-Steve
Posted
Posted

Thanks for your reply.

I will be lodged in the CEO' s residence. I am assured to have ''a room mate'' in the worst scenario. However, a single room will be provided for me.

The CEO's chef will be preparing food for the whole residents, including me. I am not too sure of the quality of the food, though.

I am just confused. Would not wanna make mistakes in my decisions.

Jollygoodfellow
Posted
Posted
As a foreign intern, can I be able to be sustained with 75 dollars per week and possible make a little savings ?

Doubt it besides I think the whole idea is to give you experience rather than an income. 

Just to add, where in the Philippines are we talking about ?