Canada Pension Question

Dave Hounddriver
Posted
Posted

It is likely that 'I Am Bob' will know of this as he is well researched on the Canada Pension.  But any Canadian with knowledge is free to add their view.

I was chatting with my brother in Canada and he said that when I get close to 65 years old I need to come back and live in Canada for 6 months.  He said I would qualify for O.A.S. but only if I had been residing in Canada for 6 months minimum prior to applying.  He said it would make a difference of about $600 a month in my income.

Yes, I could do a lot or Googling and find a lot of conflicting opinions but has anyone here 'been there, done that'??  I would like to hear more about what that is all about even though it is still 5 years away for me.

i am bob
Posted
Posted

Honestly, Dave, I haven't bothered to check any of the government pensions out... Why? Because as soon as I start collecting any, it's clawed back off my military pension! Freaking thieves!!! I used to know the numbers when I was doing Investments but I didn't bother retaining it.

Try googling "OAS Canadian outside Canada"... You should get a hit somewhere with that...

Jollygoodfellow
Posted
Posted

Not an answer for your Canadian question but in Australia its a similar thing except I believe it's 12 months here. Beats me why they have these rules.  :(

Jack Peterson
Posted
Posted

This is a plus for our countries signing up for the Social Security Agreement, It is so that you can draw the pension as if you were living in your own Country, at the time you ask for it.

Have to agree though what a bummer to have to go back for anytime just for something you have worked for and or entitled to.

Best of Luck all you members that fall into this sort of thing. :thumbsup:

JP :tiphat:

Mike In Canada
Posted
Posted

It is likely that 'I Am Bob' will know of this as he is well researched on the Canada Pension.  But any Canadian with knowledge is free to add their view.