Any Help On Sizing A Generator

PaulB
Posted
Posted

All

I am no electrician so would really value some advice on what size of generator to buy as a back up power source for my house.

I have a 3 bed with living room, kitchen and garage and would like to run 3 AC's, Lights and power sockets (15) in the event of a Brown Out.

I do not know how to calculate the KVA required so if anyone out there has any knowledge in this area and would be willing to share it I would be very grateful. Also what I can expect to pay and is it possible to have an Automatic transfer switch.

Appreciate any help and in return if you need to know the secrets of the universe such as how to keep a woman happy or where does the universe end I am happy to share with you.

Look forward to inputs.

Paul B

• Like 1

RBM
Posted
Posted

Pray tell us all how to keep a woman happy...

Some very knowledgable guys on the forum will help. Perhaps would help if you detail size of your A/Cs and refs.

• Like 1

Jack Peterson
Posted
Posted

Paul I have sent a PM with some information, When it comes to Electric and Generators you need to be careful  :thumbsup:

good stuff and your House are at the mercy of the Correct input on Brownouts  :)

Jack :tiphat:

not so old china hand
Posted
Posted

A very approximate answer would be to add up the kW rating for each device, double the total and call that your kVA rating. Somewhere on each appliance there should be a plate showing the nominal rating in kW and maximum current draw in amps.

Unfortunately the ratio between kW and kVA varies according to the type of appliance. This ratio is known as the "Power Ratio". For purely resistive appliances (those that only generate heat, stoves, coffee makers and incandescent light bulbs for example) the KVA value is the same as the kW value. For everything else KVA will be higher, sometimes much higher.