Aggresive $$$$ Filipinas during Christmas season?

• Forum Support
Old55
Posted
Posted

I'll be visiting Philippines during Christmas for the first time. A reliable source informed me I would be in danger of rouge Filipinas "pursuing" me for Christmas money. :mellow: Am I in danger?  Have Expats experienced this phenomena, any tips or suggestions?

Not sure she's yanking my chain or warning me.

• Like 3

Jack D
Posted
Posted (edited)
2 hours ago, Old55 said:

Am I in danger? 

Not really dangerous, but I've had some harassing experiences during my Christmas times in the Philippines.

There were always plenty of children (around 10 to 12 y.o.) who would grab my arm and say:

"Give me your money!" or "I want your money!"

Don't make eye contact with them, pull your arm away from them, and keep on walking.

Edited by Jack D
clarification
  • Like 3

stevewool
Posted
Posted

Never experienced anything like that, but try leaving jollybee, McDonald’s or any eating places with out lots of kids next to you with there hands held out, so make sure you have lots of change, or treat them to some chicken or burger, make there Christmas.

• Like 4
  • Love it 1

• Forum Support
Mike J
Posted
Posted

I have not experienced that, but it is very common for small groups of children to sing Christmas carols and ask for coins.  I very seldom give to beggars but I do give coins to the children who sing. 

• Like 2

• Forum Support
Tommy T.
Posted
Posted