House prices

stevewool
Posted
Posted

House prices and lot prices go up every year but have you noticed if they have gone up more since the pandemic, is there any members who either live around Bohol and the Laguna area and how the house/lot prices are.

earthdome
Posted
Posted

I don't know anything about prices in the Philippines. But where I live in the US midwest my home estimated selling price according to the internet is up 30% in the last 18 months. 

• Like 1

• Forum Support
scott h
Posted
Posted
8 hours ago, stevewool said:

if they have gone up more since the pandemic,

Hey there Steve. I have no specific knowledge of Bohol or Laguna, but almost daily I skim the business section of the Manila star (great use of bowel movement time :thumbsup:) I can not remember any articles about increasing or decreasing of residential prices in the last 8 years. Quite a few about rent prices going down for BPO office space here in Manila (POGOs exiting the country and BPOs moving to work from home)

What I will share based on my experience whilst watching our family sell some property here, is that unlike the US and probably the UK, Canada and AUS there is no website that tracks property and house value here (probably what Earthdome is using to track his home)

Here, agents will go to city hall and get a form that shows the estimated (average) square meter/peso price of land by Barangay. It does not take into account neighborhood, infrastructure or surrounding houses, but just off of property tax. Then it is up to buy/seller to come to an agreed total price. 

Now since the pandemic I have noticed a lot more for sale by owner signs going up, but never a price quoted :thumbsup:

• Like 3

stevewool
Posted
Posted