Working as freelance in PH.

f5m9v6
Posted
Posted

I've been informed the BI has corrupt people working there.
And that it's illegal to work on a tourist visa.

Now we all know that doing freelance work while a tourist is common all over the world.
Just don't get caught by a corrupt Philippine BI official.  There is NO getting out of it IF they set their sights on you.  This would (probably) only happen if you pissed someone off and they knew the right people to go after you.  An ex wife or ex gf is most common.  A competitor in your line of work is common.  I hope you get the picture.

Working as a freelancer my TAX  is going to be deducted to the TAX authority of my country.
I don't care about doing any work for any Filipino entity.

Is this still illegal?

Kingpin
Posted
Posted
45 minutes ago, f5m9v6 said:

it's illegal to work on a tourist visa.

Is this still illegal?

Yes you want 9g not 9a

• Like 1

f5m9v6
Posted
Posted
6 minutes ago, Kingpin said:

Yes you want 9g not 9a

9g will not work as i have not been granted it.

What about just working while extending the tourist visa but no one knowing about it since it's not tied to Philippines tax authorities?

If they ask me source of income, i just say, savings!

Is this a serious issue?

• Forum Support
Mike J
Posted
Posted

14 minutes ago, f5m9v6 said:

9g will not work as i have not been granted it.

What about just working while extending the tourist visa but no one knowing about it since it's not tied to Philippines tax authorities?

If they ask me source of income, i just say, savings!

Is this a serious issue?

You are not allowed to work on a tourist visa (9A).   You can work on a 9G but you need to be sponsored by a corporation that can show the skills required are not available or in short supply locally.