Teaching English online

firecracker
Posted
Posted

Hi. I'm new to this group. I'm married to a Filipina and living in Spain. We're planning to move over to the Philippines in next 2/3yrs and build a house in my wife's province. I'm an English teacher by trade and I was wondering if any of you teach English online from the Philippines and do you make enough to get by?

craftbeerlover
Posted
Posted
5 hours ago, firecracker said:

Hi. I'm new to this group. I'm married to a Filipina and living in Spain. We're planning to move over to the Philippines in next 2/3yrs and build a house in my wife's province. I'm an English teacher by trade and I was wondering if any of you teach English online from the Philippines and do you make enough to get by?

Yes you can.  I have a good buddy that taught English, first to students from China, then students from Japan.  If I remember correctly he made about 10 - 20 dollars an hour. 

• Thanks 1

• Forum Support
Mike J
Posted
Posted

Welcome to the forum Firecracker.  I, like most on the forum, am retired but I am sure you will receive additional positive replies to your question.  You will probably want to apply for a 13A visa (married to a Philippine citizen) which allows you to work here.

• Like 1
  • Thanks 1

Jollygoodfellow
Posted
Posted
7 hours ago, firecracker said:

Yes, you can make a living teaching English online.   Someone I know who passed away this year was doing so for years. He built up his reputation and was sort after. He would only teach adults. He was making between 80K to 100K pesos a month. He taught someone else I knew how to do the same thing and he did OK but decided to move back to the US for whatever reason.

But here's your problem. The Internet has improved in leaps and bounds in the cities but you mentioned building a house in the province so you would have to make sure you have good internet and perhaps a backup source. Depending on where you are will be a factor in if you can teach online.

• Like 3