Typhoons

Onemore52
Posted
Posted

Expecting a typhoon here in Bicol this week, as I am not experienced in these conditions i have a question about them .

Do they only come in in one direction unlike cyclones that can cause damage in other directions?

Clermont
Posted
Posted

From one Aussie to another, if you find yourself in that situation, take the Aussie disaster position by squatting down and placing head between the knees. When the wind hits and all seems lost, kiss your bum goodbye.

In all fairness heed the warning, if they say move out, move out and talk to the local Authorities not your next door neighbour about procedures. In the past their rescue procedures have not been up to scratch but of late, their getting their act together, good luck and stay. 

• Haha 2

craftbeerlover
Posted
Posted
4 hours ago, Onemore52 said:

Expecting a typhoon here in Bicol this week, as I am not experienced in these conditions i have a question about them .

Do they only come in in one direction unlike cyclones that can cause damage in other directions?

Normally most of the damage with a typhoon is with the storm surge and flooding, however, because many of the houses in the Philippines are not very sturdy, it does not take much to topple homes and destroy neighborhoods.  Electricity and communications is also a major concern.  The direction of the wind is irrelevant unless one side is protected by natural structures, e.g. a mountain range, but normally the strongest part of the typhoon is the NW portion of the eye, but anywhere near the eyewall will be dangerous regardless of direction.   If you have a generator make sure it is working...  I just looked and I did not see any typhoons heading your way, currently there are no typhoons in the northern hemisphere at all.

• Like 2

manofthecoldland
Posted
Posted

Where from and how you get hit depends on the location of the eye.