Expat Medical Insurance --Please Advise

Karel
Posted
Posted (edited)

no spam or insurance agents please... :(i am new here. will be relocated to Cebu in July.I have some experiences with health insurance. most of the companies are good.I got people from manulife, great eastern, global health asia. all claiming theirs is the best.I understand insurance today is so competitive that its not the evaluation of the package but the reliability of the company and the people behind it...now that I'm relocating to Phillipines in less than 3 weeks,I'm thinking of switching to pallas global insurance cos of company policiesbut I need your thoughts, especially those covered by them.Do you think this is my best option? please please suggest other insurance companies that work best for youThe hardest part is starting all over again.

Edited by Boss Man
removed link by new member

Mik
Posted
Posted

Some people in good health forego medical insurance, they just pay as they go and keep a high limit credit card for emergencies. It doesn't hurt to have some savings too..

Jim Sibbick
Posted
Posted
Some people in good health forego medical insurance, they just pay as they go and keep a high limit credit card for emergencies. It doesn't hurt to have some savings too..
That is me!I call it self insurance.However, I still have Australia as my back up plan. I stopped bothering with insurance after I spent 4 days in hospital in 1995. I realised after making my claim that it was a waste of time as the aud $50 per day claim for incidentals, allowed for in my policy, far exceeded all the other costs for hospital stay such as private room, medicines and doctor visits. I have had to go to hsopital since but am still way way way ahead.Regards: Jim

UZI
Posted
Posted