Retirement Visa Or Not?

The Eagle
Posted
Posted

Hi Guys,I am new to the forum and have so many questions and I hope to gain information from your experiences. Maybe i can contribute as well, lived in Europe, traveled SE Asia and done a lot of things although I have no experience with the PI. I plan my first trip to Cebu to be sometime Sept/November. I am looking for a retirement spot outside of the US. Yes, I am single and would like to hook up with a lady but have learned patience in this regard through my past successes and blunders. Well here goes the first of many1. It seems many of you are renewing visas all the time with added expense and time. Why would one not got the simple route of Retirement Visa if all requirements are met? It seems so much simpler than in Thailand, which was my first choice but the Visa thing seems too arbitrary. Is the PI retirement visa as easy as it looks according to the Bureau of Immigration?2. Does any bank in PI, such as HSBC, qualify to hold the 10,000 deposit needed for retirement? Are there ATM charges? and are machines readily available?Thanks

Art2ro
Posted
Posted (edited)

If you're a single person and can afford the retirement visa, go for it! It will save you the hassles of renewing your tourist visa every two months! But then what if you ever get married to a Filipino? Revert to a 13a visa! Just as good! I'm sure you will find all the answers to you questions with a little research on some of the Philippines Government websites, just ask a question on Google search engine and all the links will lead you to the answers you need! Good luck!

Edited by Art2ro

Dave Hounddriver
Posted
Posted