American Vet And His Filipina Daughter That Need Our Help

piglett
Posted
Posted (edited)

American Vet and his Filipina daughter that need our help his name is Jimmy Edwards & he has been a member of another site that he has belonged to since 2006 here is a link to the news storyhttp://www.wcti12.com/video/29515646/index.html and here is a link to the petition https://wwws.whitehouse.gov/petitions/%21/petition/us-citizenship-amerasians-philippines-and-japan/sFtF5qS1?utm_source=wh.gov&utm_medium=shorturl&utm_campaign=shorturl piglett

Edited by piglett

brock
Posted
Posted

Links do not seem to work ?

piglett
Posted
Posted
Links do not seem to work ?
sorry about that , they are now workingpig

Mr Lee
Posted
Posted

Something about this sounds fishy. I am not an expert but the news story says "Pinky has had trouble getting a long term visa, her father says she has been denied several times" which sounds to me like he had her file for a visa and not him file for a US passport as his daughter, so if he really wanted to bring his daughter back, then he would have filed for a US passport for her, and then had the necessary DNA tests done to prove she is his daughter, and then I am pretty sure she would have been given a US passport. I do not know all the laws about Amer-Asians from that time period, but a child born to a US citizen should be given US citizenship if proven, so something is not quite right with the story and probably the father has never filed for a US passport for her, so he may not even be her real father. :) It seems to me that he is trying to cut corners by having her apply for a visa and that is not how it works, since a US citizen does not need a visa to go to the US. If there is such a law which would prevent the children of US citizens from getting US citizenship, then yes I feel it needs to be changed, but to me it seems like he is trying to cut corners or cannot qualify in some way as her father.

• Like 1

Mr Lee
Posted
Posted