Discrimination in the Philippines

sonjack2847
Posted
Posted

I went to twin lakes Wednesday and was charged double what the locals pay,I was buying some cigarettes yesterday and she wanted  more than 3 times the normal price. When I went to see the whale sharks a few years ago same thing double for foreigners. How widespread is it here and how are they allowed to getaway with it? Anybody else have any examples of this overcharging scenario?

• Like 1

sonjack2847
Posted
Posted

Here is the receipt for the twin lakes.

twin lakes receipt.pdf

• Forum Support
scott h
Posted
Posted

Happens all the time in the States Sonja. The world famous San Diego Zoo gives a discount if you show ID that you are from a local zip code. Same with hotel rooms there, show local ID and you don't have to pay the VAT that is designed for tourists.

Now for your smokes? That's just being an entrepreneur really, charge (or try to) what the traffic will bear. I did the same thing when I was a salesman in my younger days. If a guy drove up in a BMW I would try real hard not to give him a discount. If he was in a VW, I would slash so long as I still made a profit.

Here in the Philippines? If I feel I am getting the big nose tax at a sari-sari store I just give my best skeptical look, if they don't lower the price, I go to the next one.:cheersty: 

• Like 4

robert k
Posted
Posted
1 hour ago, sonjack2847 said:

I went to twin lakes Wednesday and was charged double what the locals pay,I was buying some cigarettes yesterday and she wanted  more than 3 times the normal price. When I went to see the whale sharks a few years ago same thing double for foreigners. How widespread is it here and how are they allowed to getaway with it? Anybody else have any examples of this overcharging scenario?

I think such activity is most common where there are more tourists and expats but you can find it anywhere.

• Like 3

GregZ
Posted
Posted (edited)