US Tax ramifications of owning a condo unit

anthonytt
Posted
Posted

I'm looking into buying a condo unit here in cebu but I'm concerned about US tax liability, what I need to report and what extra forms I need to fill out with my yearly taxes. And any US taxes I will be responsible for by owning a cindo here. Anyone American here own a condo 
And can give me some information about this would be greatly appreciated! 

earthdome
Posted
Posted

I am not a tax expert and do not own a condo. I would assume it is the same as owning a home in the USA. You could be subject to capital gains tax when you sell.

Be aware that you do have to make an annual FATCA report to the IRS if you have at any one time $10,000 USD or more financial assets outside of the USA. So you may be subject to FATCA reporting.

robert k
Posted
Posted
6 hours ago, anthonytt said:

I'm looking into buying a condo unit here in cebu but I'm concerned about US tax liability, what I need to report and what extra forms I need to fill out with my yearly taxes. And any US taxes I will be responsible for by owning a cindo here. Anyone American here own a condo 
And can give me some information about this would be greatly appreciated! 

Best advise I can give is talk to a CPA. The ones I have personally used have been friendly, willing to answer a simple question as long as you aren't asking them to give away the store.

anthonytt
Posted
Posted
12 hours ago, earthdome said:

I am not a tax expert and do not own a condo. I would assume it is the same as owning a home in the USA. You could be subject to capital gains tax when you sell.

Be aware that you do have to make an annual FATCA report to the IRS if you have at any one time $10,000 USD or more financial assets outside of the USA. So you may be subject to FATCA reporting.

I believe your talking about FBAR. FACTA aka 8938 has higher thresholds. 

• 4 weeks later...
mogo51
Posted
Posted

You  won't have any tax obligations if you don't tell them.

• Like 1