Some experiences while driving in Davao City

• Forum Support
Tommy T.
Posted
Posted (edited)

I am not a professional driver. But I have driven hundreds of thousands of miles in USA, maybe 10's of thousands of miles in Australia and New Zealand and a few thousand miles in Canada (eh?).

But the driving here in Davao City seems a bit crazy.

Over a year ago, I was driving with my partner in a borrowed Wigo. I came up to an intersection (one of the few with an actually working stoplight). The light was red. Then it turned green with a left turn arrow and I was turning left. The light was green for maybe 15 seconds, then turned yellow and almost immediately red. I started my left turn after the car in front of me while the light was still green. It turned yellow while we were in the intersection and red before we got through it.

Sure enough, there were three or four CTTMO guys lying in wait just after the intersection. One of them waved us over (the windows were tinted dark, so he could not tell if I were Filipino or foreigner). He asked for my driver's license - Washington State - and then asked how long I had been in Philippines. Knowing that the law states that a foreign license is only valid here for 90 days and that I had been here for almost a year since last entry, I lied through my teeth and told him - only one month sir. That seemed to satisfy him...for the moment...

Then he told me something to the effect of, "You ran a red light so I will write you a ticket for reckless driving... How do you feel about that?"

I was gobsmacked... reckless driving? What? I tried to explain about the light, but he would have nothing of it...