Expat motorcycle financing?

Ninpo2dan
Posted
Posted

I'll be moving to Philippines in a couple weeks. I'm a disabled veteran, have my monthly direct deposit, which is my only income right now. I have a friend there that's helping me search for a place once I arrive, and I've got my budget worked out. It's going to be tight living for a while, but I can manage.

I would like to get a motorcycle, something to get around the city and take a road trip every once in a while. I am not currently earning enough to finance anything big, but the Rusi 250 is only about 80k cash price. I am going to try and finance one, and I was curious if anyone else had experience trying to finance?

I will be opening a local bank account after I arrive, I have found a few banks that will allow it. I will then begin monthly transfers of funds from my USAA account to the local bank account. Going to be 3 months before I get my ACR card, if I recall correctly.

I have been told by several people that I am able to finance if I have my ACR card, proof of monthly direct deposits, local bank account, local rental agreement, and enough time remaining on my passport.

I know I can just wait a few weeks until I'm there, and just walk into a bike shop and ask about the financing options. But I would like to get some info before I leave, if possible. I'd appreciate any comments or feedback regarding your experience financing a bike.

• Like 3

Arizona Kid
Posted
Posted
3 minutes ago, Ninpo2dan said:

I'll be moving to Philippines in a couple weeks. I'm a disabled veteran, have my monthly direct deposit, which is my only income right now. I have a friend there that's helping me search for a place once I arrive, and I've got my budget worked out. It's going to be tight living for a while, but I can manage.