What Keeps You In The Philippines?

BobP
Posted
Posted

Hi Everyone,

I have seen a lot of things that get under your collective skins while living in the Philippines.  I am interested in what is keeping you in the Phil?  

I am a newbie to this forum and am strongly considering a move to the Phil.  My plan is to come visit in Jan and see what I think and to see how my internet love interest get along in person.

I am from the USA and as you guys from Australia and the UK know from living in developed nations is VERY different than living in Phil or other 3rd world countries.

So, please tell me reasons for staying and living in the Phil.  I would imagine everyone's first and maybe only answer will be their mate, spouse, gf.

This is a great forum and I appreciate all feedback.

Thanks guys!

Bob

:cheersty:

• Like 4

BluesDude
Posted
Posted

"I would imagine everyone's first and maybe only answer will be their mate, spouse, gf."

Certainly it's true many guys are there for their spouses/gfs. I think though you'll find many guys living in the Philippines do so because there's something in the quality of life that keeps them there. My wife and I started there many years ago. After 5 years of Living in the Philippines we went to the U.S. Now, 25 years later we're soon to move back to the Philippines.

We're going back for the atmosphere, the heat, the feeling of (at least perceived) freedoms, cost of living, travel opportunities, family, friends, and most of all...clean government. Just kidding on that last one. The Philippines is certainly not for everyone but I personally feel more comfortable there than I do here in the United States.

Best of luck to you and your girlfriend. I hope you enjoy your visit there. Where will you be staying and for how long? Being in the wrong location would absolutely be a deal breaker for me so, if possible, try to get around and see at least a few different areas. Let us know how your visit goes.

• Like 5

BobP
Posted
Posted