The Philippines: You can check out but you can never leave

Jake
Posted
Posted
19 minutes ago, Mark Berkowitz said:

I guess just as they say “you can take the Filipina out of the Philippines but you can’t take the Philippines out of the Filipina"

Hello Mark, I always say -- when in Rome, do as the Filipinos do.....he, he.

By the way, are you a veteran?  If so, we need to trade some sea stories.  Respectfully Jake USN retired.

• Like 2
  • Haha 2

Mark Berkowitz
Posted
Posted

13 minutes ago, Jake said:

By the way, are you a veteran?

Hi Jake,

I never had the pleasure of military service but thank you for yours.

When I was of age, most (if not) all of my peers did anything that they could to avoid going to Nam.  In my case, my draft lottery number was in the high 300's.  Instead of military service, I chose to work for the US civilian government and I've been to many places such as Hawaii with that work.

As far as not being a veteran, I had a nice discussion with an elderly Vietnamese man at Dulles Airport (who was on his return trip to Vietnam while I was on a return trip to the Phils) and he told me that I should have gone to Vietnam because there were lots of girls and plenty of weed to smoke... in other words, he told me that I missed out on lots of fun.

Somehow, it came up in our talks that I'm returning to my Filipina wife and his face turned red and he went into shock and said:  "You better watch out!... Don't ever make her angry!... because if you do, she'll cut your d*ck off." ha ha ha 

• Like 1
  • Love it 1
  • Haha 3

earthdome
Posted
Posted
On 6/2/2019 at 12:01 AM, Mark Berkowitz said:

The recent mentioning of ‘Hotel California’ in another post reminded me that even after leaving the Philippines, and returning to the USA, I’ve merely ‘checked out’ but I have never really left... just like the song:

‘You can check out any time you like,
But you can never leave!'