Starting my planning

TomG77
Posted
Posted

Hi Everyone,

I have started the planning process to look at the possibility of retiring in the Philippines. This started off with just planning a 3-week holiday in April 23, flying into Cebu and visiting Boracay and Coron. The more I am researching the more the idea of retiring sounds appealing.

I do not confess that I know everything, more the opposite I know very little. I have read articles and watched some YouTube videos of people's experiences. I have limited travel experience through Asia recently but did do a 3month trek 25yrs ago across Thailand, Cambodia and Laos. To this day still rate that overseas holiday over living in London for 5plus year and travels through Europe.

This is why I am serious in exploring this idea.

I don’t see myself taking this huge step until 2024. I think I year of planning and more saving is required, followed by a 3 or 6month stay to properly feel my way around and to experience both dry and wet seasons. A 3-week holiday is like a honeymoon, everything looks and feels fantastic, and your budget extends further as you want to enjoy yourself like a King.

I am turning 46 this year and single so my plans are my own and I can navigate what appeals to me. I am assuming that my holiday in April will confirm my desire to relocate. I won't have an income (except interest rate growth on savings) after I relocate but I, like many other would love the idea of opening a beachside bar or purchasing one down the track if feasible but that's for another day.

The biggest question is can I afford with no other potential income. If anything comes after the move, then that’s a bonus but need to plan without. I would like to live in either Cebu, Boracay or Coron (mainly because that is where I have done most research to date), but you never know where the final destination may be.