How does the Ya-ya (live in maid) system work?

boyee
Posted
Posted

As a westerner the concept of a live in employee is difficult for me to wrap my head around.  All of my wife's family in Manila have help.  Some are absolutely wonderful people and seem to love their life and will never leave their hired family.  I've met others who looked like they were afraid of being fired every moment and never seemed to relax.  Certainly it depends on how they are treated.  How does it work though?  How much does it cost per month?  My wife and I plan on treating our help very well of course, right.  I mean we are decent people.  But family in Manila tell us to be careful not to treat them too well or they will ask for too much and we will end up having to let them go.  I have no experience with cultures that have a clear class system and having employee's who will live with me will be an adjustment.  My Filipino wife has spent her entire adult life in America so I will not be able to rely on her to manage staff.  I'll have to figure it out on my own so anyone with experience and good advice will be my new best friend.  Thanks.

Arizona Kid
Posted
Posted
5 hours ago, boyee said: